Details: Dining Room

So… This post and those to follow are looooooooong overdue. I’m a bad blogger. I created this blog to provide sneak peeks into the transformation of our home, but then I found myself wanting to tweak one more thing or finish one more project before revealing everything, and days turned into weeks turned into months (cause there’s always one more project and never enough hours). That’s the Type A personality trait in me, I suppose (thanks, mom!) So, lesson learned, and I’ll try to be better moving forward (but no promises.)

Now, on to the pics… Here are some detail shots of our finished dining room.

I chose a midnight blue for the wall color in this room (Sherwin Williams’ “Naval”, SW 6244). Everyone thought I was loco for going so dark, but the room called for drama, and that opinionated chandelier wouldn’t have it any other way. Once it was on the walls and all of the trim work had been painted, everyone finally came around and joined “the dark (blue) side”.

20140112-101522.jpg

The large, grey laminate table was a freebie from the church attic where my mother works. I love that it is 70s contemporary and was most likely used for children’s craft projects (there are still gold paint flecks on the surface). I had a strong urge to pair it with a neo-gothic set of chairs, and I was able to score a pair of these beauties at a local vintage store for $150.

20140112-102541.jpg

Since the decorating budget was tight, I let them sit at the heads and complemented them with a set of chairs I was pleased to find on Craigslist for $75. (It’s all about the scrollwork and tiny spirals, baby!) Eventually, I’ll get around to recovering those seat cushions, but for now, they work.

The mirror and chandelier are original to the house, and you may recognize the infamous “Pickled Pee Rug“.

This house has so many lovely “built-ins”, and this curio cabinet is a great example. It’s so nice to finally have an appropriate way to display all of my favorite glassware and the like.

20140112-103249.jpg

20140112-103651.jpg
(My growing collection of citron ceramics.)

20140112-103705.jpg
(My mother’s Japanese tea set that was always a childhood favorite.)

I often enjoy decorating with layers of tone-on-tone, so I decided to put the dark blue velvet wingback chairs in this room. Coupled with a reflective column side table (again, the 70s influence) and tribal-inspired art (my first piece of purchased artwork, bought at the Cedar Key Art Festival when I was in high school), the eclectic setting creates a nook to enjoy post-dinner coffee or dessert.

20140114-095342.jpg

Since I prefer to mix styles and eras, I decided to use the midcentury mod hutch in this room as the bar/liquor cabinet.

20140114-100244.jpg

20140112-153418.jpg
(I thrifted this cool little set of cocktail picks at a local antiques store.)

I inherited my grandmother’s dresser quite some time ago and have always repurposed it for table linen storage. Nothing has changed in this new space, but now that I no longer have to use the top as a makeshift bar, I was able to create a vignette.

20140112-110143.jpg

The mirror is an antique triptych that my mother had when she was in her 20s and had been storing in her attic. The washing bowl was a gift from a family friend. The lamp is decidedly contemporary, although I’m always a sucker for anything acrylic (another nod to the 70s). The monogrammed chartreuse linen was thrifted, and I love how it contrasts against the inky blue.

20140112-150052.jpg

20140112-150107.jpg

The antique portrait is of my Great-Great Grandparents, and the dried hydrangeas are from the garden.

And, finally, the before-and-afters…

20140114-094955.jpg

20140114-095020.jpg

20140114-095103.jpg

3 thoughts on “Details: Dining Room

  1. The continuation of a beautiful and fulfilling project. How great that you get to use family treasures and are able to find such good buys. By the way, you are a good writer. Your descriptions truly paint a picture for us and make this blog so interesting. Are those great-great grandparents on your dad’s side? The man looks a bit like Lou to me.

Leave a Reply

