Details: Living Room

I’m going to stop making excuses and just accept that I will not be able to keep up with the blog as often as I’d like, and I’ll just have to post when I get around to (or feel like) posting.  That being said, it’s high time I revealed the Living Room details.

When we bought the house, this room sported ivory-on-ivory wallpaper and cream carpet.  It was also one of the few rooms that had plaster walls, so this is the only room in which we stripped the wallpaper.  I knew I wanted a warm yellow-green for the wall color and decided upon Sherwin Williams’ Escapade Gold (SW 6403).  You can see my original inspiration board here.

This room is a long one, but it’s wide enough that I could still put together multiple seating and activity zones.

This room gets great light, and you can see the burlap roman shades I made last year hard at work here.  The giant transitional-style light fixture was a birthday gift from my parents.  I feel like it helps bring some masculinity and old-world charm to the space.

I’ve always wanted a fireplace, so I knew I wanted to create a focused gathering spot there where we could sit with friends over cocktails or play games.

Living Room

I hate feeling  “left out”, so I also wanted a little desk area so that I would have the option to work in the same room while my man watches TV or whatnot.

Living Room

You may recognize the couch from the post about our St. Augustine adventure where we drove in the worst torrential downpour I think I’ve ever had the “pleasure” of braving.  The owner of the couch threw in the matching chair, so I added it in the mix for some continuity.

We didn’t have to do very much to the beautiful hardwood floors once we pulled up the carpet other than a light buffing and varnish.  Aren’t they gorgeous?  I love how they play off the rich golden walls and cause the blues to pop.  I found the rug at a local favorite junktique store.  I fell in love with it’s warmth and pattern immediately (70’s shag rug?  Yes, please!) and somehow managed to get it for a steal.  It turned out to be not quite the right size – too wide for the TV area set-up, but not long enough to cover both the couch and fireplace seating areas.  So, my mother and I took it to a local carpet vendor and had them cut it down to size and bind it.  So, even though we had to put some extra money towards it, it still ended up costing much less than if I had bought the rugs independently, AND I got a matching custom-sized set out of it, AND they’re VINTAGE!!!!!  Win, win, win!!!!

Living Room

I love the chalkboard paint trend and knew I wanted to incorporate it somewhere in my home, but I do recognize that it is a trend, so I didn’t want to get too crazy with it.  I also knew that I wanted to have the back wall of the built-in bookshelves contrast with the trim; so I decided to paint the back wall in black chalkboard paint.  That way I could label my book nooks (kind of like a personal library) and if I got tired of it, it would just look like black paint.  I’m very pleased with the results.

Bookshelf

 

Here are some of my favorite little moments in the room:

I also have plans for a gallery wall on the wall perpendicular to the couch, but I’m still curating and gathering my art.  I’m sure there will be a follow-up post once I finish it.  Eventually…

And now the BEFORE & AFTERs:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “Details: Living Room

Leave a Reply

